Whale Welcomes 2017

all-the-ways-i-love-you-water-globe-root-1bby4531_1470_1
It’s the first day of a new year!

It’s the start of a new year. Snow is everywhere in Chelsea, and particularly in front of Whale’s house. Hot Dog has been neglecting her snow shoveling duties because it is the holidays. It’s a Sunday but people are busy at their porches, or going to church or to grab a little bit of holiday sale action yet again at their nearest supermarket. Looking at the chaotic first day of a new year from the window is making Whale feel hopeful and a little bit at peace.

Whale (thinks to himself): I can’ t believe 2017 is here already. I am getting a year older soon it seems. Us Capricorns are so determined to climb the career ladder, it’s not funny. Wonder how Bart rang in her NYE! Mine was filled with drunken behaviour, loud music and a pretty late night. Good thing I could come back home to tuck Hot Dog in her bed at night. The little baby…I can’t wait to tell Hot Dog about all the unrealistic stories my friends have been knitting for the new year. They had so much to drink all they could talk about was their lousy jobs, how hard it is to ask for a raise from their bosses, and caricaturing scary stories when there aren’t any problems or anything at all that should be making us feel queasy or nervous or fret about because there is no way any of us cannot solve them – maybe it was the homemade punch or something. How hilarious! It couldn’t be a better start to the new year…

Hot Dog: Happy New Year!

Whale (startled): Oh! Where you came from? Had a good sleep?

Hot Dog: I did, yes! I am excited that it’s 2017 already!

Whale: Me too! Happy 2017 and a Happy New Year!…I kind of feel like going back to bed again.

Hot Dog: Why? There are like a million happy things you can do today…

Whale: I feel sleepy and everyone is so busy, it’s making me feel even more lazy!

Fat Pig: Happy New Year folks!

Whale: AAAHHHH!

Hot Dog: What happened? Did Pig startle you?

Whale: Yes, he did! Sorry, Fat Pig! I wasn’t expecting you infront of my window so early on a New Year’s Day!

Fat Pig: Oh! That’s alright, Whale!

Hot Dog and Whale (together): Happy New Year, to you too!!!

Fat Pig: Have I got a riddle for you…there is word on the street…”it is just there”.

Whale: Wot is?

Fat Pig: I think that is followed by “Things. It’s one of the many different kinds of things. It’s just going to happen. Hmmm. What else? I think it is just there. It IS there.”

Hot Dog: Something amazing?

Fat Pig: I don’t know my amigo but that’s on replay and it’s driving me crazy.

Whale: Me too! Just listening to it gave me a headache.

Author: Osmi Anannya

Blogger. ♥

Leave a Reply

