Indie Music

Indie music is a pretty significant music market. I find it so even though the list of indie artists I listen to is very slim. I like to listen to music put forward by prominent commercial record labels instead, so imagine artists like Oasis, Britney Spears, Boyzone and Santana – these are music artists I have grown up listening to. Indie music, like anything ‘indie’ or independent, be it art, literature or design, is an independent venture and these music artists (and their music) is independent from big music labels, such as Sony Music and Universal Music Group. Artists, such as Adele started off by signing with an independent record label.

What I liked about independent record labels is that they basically help with combing through talent worth listening to for music lovers, like me, from vibrant indie music quarters. They do not have the financial means to distribute or promote their music artists as much as major music labels do but this mini-industry of sorts still exists today. Despite the obvious drawback, which music artists signed with independent record labels experience in getting their music heard, indie music offers artists more freedom to craft music as they would like. Because indie music is independent from that kind of music direction offered by big record labels, the music may arguably be termed as more authentic, although I wouldn’t classify indie music as anything of that sorts, myself, having been a fan of mainstream and popular music, my whole life.

Two indie music artists I really like to listen to often include Mumford and Sons and Goldfrapp.

Whenever I see music artists I do not recognize, unlike Whitney Houston, perhaps on gig lists, in the media, etc. I tend to think of them as part of the indie music crowd because the fact that they aren’t instantly recognizable would probably mean they aren’t really part of the whole mainstream/popular music culture. One thing that does concern me over indie music though is how if too many people choose to create records from scratch and contribute to the indie music market, it might make the industry appear largely valueless from the outside. But I would still comb through indie music to find songs more suitable to my taste because despite my burgeoning digital music collection, I feel that great music is always rare and precious.